IPL2023 to be played form 31 March to 28 May

Tournament’s inaugural and final match is to be held in Ahmedabad, and there will be 2 matches on Saturday’s and Sunday’s.

It is going to start on 31 March, defending champions Gujrat Titans the defending champions are going to take on Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad as the Indian Premier League has returned to its traditional home and away format in India after 2019. The final match of IPL is also going to be held in Ahmedabad on 28 May.

IPL is all set to start its inaugural match after 5 days after the final of Womens Premier League on 26 March, and the opening weekend will have all the teams in power mode: Gujrat titans will face CSK on Friday, Punjab kings will have clash with Kolkata Knight Riders in Mohali and Lucknow Super Giants will play against Delhi Capitals in Lucknow on Saturday on April 1. Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Rajasthan Royals in Hyderabad and lastly Royal Challengers Bangalore will play against Mumbai Indians on Sunday on 2 April.

The four playoffs schedule has not been decided yet, but the Final venue is been selected as Ahmedabad.


This League has been divided into 2 groups similar like last season, In group : Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants and in group 2:Chennai Super Kings, Rpyal Challenger Bangalore, Gujrat Titans, Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad, but in this season each team will play 2 matches with 5 teams from other group and one match each with 4 teams from their own group making it 14 games per team.

This league consists of 70 matches within 52 days from March 31 to May 21 in 12 cities. There are 10 regular venues: Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Kolkata,Lucknow, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Mohali but this season some matches will be played in Guwhati( Royals ground) and Dharamshala (King Punjab ground). Rajasthan Royals will play their first two home games in Guwhati and remaining in Jaipur. Whereas Kings Punjab will play their first 5 home matches in Mohali and last 2 in Dharamshala.

In this league evening matches will start from 7:30 pm IST with the afternoon matches on the day of double match day on weekends will start from 3:30 pm IST.

There is going to be 18 double matches in this league: every Saturday and Sunday. The 2 most successful teams in the history of IPL are Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will come head to head 2 times on 8 April and 6 May and the 6th May match will be the 1000th match of IPL history from 2008.

Last time in 2019 this league is held on local traditional grounds and in 2020 this league has been postponed from March to September and venue has been moved to UAE because of Covid-19. In 2021, it has decided to do this league in Indian summers but due to Covid outbreak it has been stopped and postponed to September and moved to UAE.  Last year in 2022, tournament was played in India in March but all of the matches was played on Mumbai and Pune and playoffs and finals had held in Kolkata and Ahmedabad.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

pragmatic play